The horizontal circle that goes round the Earth exactly in the middle, at equal distance from the north and south poles is called the ‘equator’, because it divides earth into (two) equal parts. This is the circle designated as 0° latitude. Following the way angles are designated in geometry, latitudes are expressed in degrees (°), minutes ('), and seconds ('').