Indian Constitution

      High Courts-Indian Constitution
No. High Courts
1. State Judiciary consists High Court and Subordinate Courts.
2. Articles 214-231 of Part VI of the Constitution of India dealt with the provisions regarding the appointment, removal, qualification, salary, tenure and powers of the Judges of the High Courts.
3. The President of India appoints Chief and other Judges of the High Court.
4. The Governor appoints the Judges of District Courts.
5. President of India consults the Chief Justice of India, the Chief Justice of High Court and the Governor of the State concerned while appointing Judges.
6. The High Court consists Chief Justice and such number of other Judges determined by the Act of the Parliament.
7. The Chief Justice and other Judges can be removed by the Parliament by impeachment.
8. The Chief Justice and other Judges hold the office until 62 years. However, they may resign by addressing a letter to the President.
9. Qualifications: The following qualifications must possess to become a Judge of High Court.
10. a) He shall be a citizen of India;
b) He must held Judicial office for atleast 10 years or atleast 10 years service as advocate of High Court.
11. There 21 High Courts in India.
12. Two or more states can be placed under the jurisdiction of one High Court.
13. The States of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Tripura, Meghalaya and Mizoram are placed under the Jurisdiction of Gauhati High Court.
14. The State of Keral and Lakshadweep are placed under the jurisdiction of Keral High Court.
15. The State of Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry are placed under the jurisdiction of Madras High Court.
16. The State of Maharashtra and Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu are placed under the jurisdiction of Bombay High Court.
17. The States of Punjab and Haryana and Chandigarh are placed under the jurisdiction of Punjab and Haryana High Court.
18. The State of West Bengal and Andaman and Nicobar islands are placed under the jurisdiction of Calcutta High Court.