Indian Constitution

No. Rajya Sabha
1. As per Article 80 Council of States (Rajya Sabha) shall consists 12 members appointed by the President. 238 members representing states and union territories.
2. The members of the Rajya Sabha(except 12 nominated members) are elected by the State Legislative Assemblies. The election takes place by means of proportional representation and a single transferable vote.
3. Qualifications to contest for the membership of Rajya Sabha:
1. He must be a citizen of India.
2. He must have completed 30 years of age; and
3. He must posses other qualifications prescribed by the Parliament.
4. As per Article 83 of the Constitution Rajya Sabha shall not be dissolved. One-third of the members of the Rajya Sabha shall retire on the expiration of every 2 years.
5. As per Article 89 The Vice-President of India is ex officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha.
6. The quorum of Rajya Sabha is 25 members.