Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Mahajanapadas Buddhism Jainism Mauryan Empire Post Mauryan Age-Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Sangam Age Satavahanas Vakatakas Kadambas Badami Chalukyas Rashtrakutas Chola Empire Kalyani Chalukyas Pallava Kingdom Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Bhakti Movement Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Sur Dynasty-Shershah Gajapati Kingdom Eastern Ganga Dynasty Hoysalas Ahom Kingdom Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Maratha Kingdom Sikhs Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Advent of Europeans British Rule Constitutional Developments Education-Press Establishment of British le Governor Generals Moderates Popular Movements 1857 Revolt Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Nationalism Lord Canning


Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism Persian-Greek Invasions Mauryan Empire Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Indian Culture Sangam Age Satavahanas Chola Empire Badami Chalukyas Pallavas Rashtrakutas Kalyani Chalukyas Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Hoysala Kingdom Independent Kingdoms Kakatiyas Kalachuri Kingdom Later Pandyas Marathas Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Sur Dynasty-Shershah Sikhs Advent of Europeans Revolts Governor Generals British Rule Natonal Leaders Popular Movements Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Natonalism Viceroys Education-Press Constitutional Developments --%>

Badami Chalukyas

Badami Chalukya kingdom was emerged as prominent kingdom after the downfall of Satavahana empire.

The founder of Badami Chalukya dynasty was Jayasimha.

His period of reign was 485 A.D to 510 A.D.

Badami in the Bijapur district of Karnataka State was the capital of Badami Chalukyas.

Jayasimha succeeded by his son Ranaranga.

He ruled from 510 to 535 A.D.

Both Jayasimha and his son Ranaranga were the feudatories of Kadambas of Banavasi.

Ranaranga`s son Pulakesi I ascended the throne in 535 A.D and ruled upto 566 A.D.

As Kadambas were weak Pulakesi I revolted against them and declared independence.

He converted the hill near Badami into a strong fortress.

He fought in many battles for the expansion of his kingdom and celebrated his victories by performing Aswamedha Sacrifice.

Pulakesi I succeeded by his son Kirthivarma.

Kirthivarma ascended the throne in 566 A.D.

He defeated Kadambas and occupied norther Konkan and Kenera regions.

He also defeated Nalas of Nalavadi(Bellary and Kurnool).

He had the title of Maharaja.

As the son of Kirthivarma was a minor, his brother Mangalesa ascended the throne.

Mangalesa fought against Kalachuries and occupied Island of Revathi.

As Mangalesa did not hand over the power to Pulakesi II (son of Kirtivarma), Pulakesi II waged war against his uncle Mangalesa and killed him in the battle.

Pulakesi II was the greatest ruler in the Badami Chalukya Dynasty.

After Pulakesi II, Vikramaditya I, Vinayaditya, Vijayaditya, Vikramaditya II and Kirtivarma II were succeeded.

During the period of Kirtivarma II, Dantidurga who as the feudatory chief of the western Maharashtra declared independence and founded Rashtrakuta dynasty.

The Badami Chalukya rule came to end when Krishna I of the Rashtrakuta dynasty defeated Kirtivarma II and annexed the whole kingdom of Badami Chalukyas