Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Mahajanapadas Buddhism Jainism Mauryan Empire Post Mauryan Age-Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Sangam Age Satavahanas Vakatakas Kadambas Badami Chalukyas Rashtrakutas Chola Empire Kalyani Chalukyas Pallava Kingdom Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Bhakti Movement Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Sur Dynasty-Shershah Gajapati Kingdom Eastern Ganga Dynasty Hoysalas Ahom Kingdom Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Maratha Kingdom Sikhs Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Advent of Europeans British Rule Constitutional Developments Education-Press Establishment of British le Governor Generals Moderates Popular Movements 1857 Revolt Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Nationalism Lord Canning


Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism Persian-Greek Invasions Mauryan Empire Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Indian Culture Sangam Age Satavahanas Chola Empire Badami Chalukyas Pallavas Rashtrakutas Kalyani Chalukyas Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Hoysala Kingdom Independent Kingdoms Kakatiyas Kalachuri Kingdom Later Pandyas Marathas Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Sur Dynasty-Shershah Sikhs Advent of Europeans Revolts Governor Generals British Rule Natonal Leaders Popular Movements Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Natonalism Viceroys Education-Press Constitutional Developments --%>


The administrative system of Mughals was centralized one.

There was not much administrative reforms during the period of Babar and Humayun since they ruled for a short period.

During the period Akbar a number of administrative reforms were introduced.

Administration during the period of Akbar was effecient and based on sound principles of good government.

The king had absolute powers.

He was assisted by a number of ministers in the administration.

The important ministers were:

a) Vakil - Prime Minister;

b) Diwan or Wazir - Finance Minister;

c) Mir Bakshi - Inspection of Mansabdars and disbursement of salaries;

d) Sadar-us-Sadar - looked after endowment and charity departments.

Akbar introduced subedary system and other Mughal rulers followed this system.

The Mughal empire was divided into a number of provinces called Subas.

Subas were kept under the control of Viceroys called Subedar.

There were 15 subas during the period of Akbar.

Subas were divided into Sarkars.

Sarkar was headed by Faujdar.

Faujdar maintained law and order and collected revenue in the Sarkars.

Sarkars were again divided into Parganas.

Pargana was kept under the control of Chaudari

In big towns an officer called Kotwal looked after the municiapal and police duties.

The emperor was the head of justice. Chief Quazis were appointed in the provinces.