Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Mahajanapadas Buddhism Jainism Mauryan Empire Post Mauryan Age-Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Sangam Age Satavahanas Vakatakas Kadambas Badami Chalukyas Rashtrakutas Chola Empire Kalyani Chalukyas Pallava Kingdom Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Bhakti Movement Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Sur Dynasty-Shershah Gajapati Kingdom Eastern Ganga Dynasty Hoysalas Ahom Kingdom Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Maratha Kingdom Sikhs Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Advent of Europeans British Rule Constitutional Developments Education-Press Establishment of British le Governor Generals Moderates Popular Movements 1857 Revolt Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Nationalism Lord Canning


Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism Persian-Greek Invasions Mauryan Empire Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Indian Culture Sangam Age Satavahanas Chola Empire Badami Chalukyas Pallavas Rashtrakutas Kalyani Chalukyas Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Hoysala Kingdom Independent Kingdoms Kakatiyas Kalachuri Kingdom Later Pandyas Marathas Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Sur Dynasty-Shershah Sikhs Advent of Europeans Revolts Governor Generals British Rule Natonal Leaders Popular Movements Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Natonalism Viceroys Education-Press Constitutional Developments --%>


The Mughals were sunnis.

Except Aurangzeb the rest were not bigots.

Akbar was tolerant towards all religions.

He abolished Pilgrimage tax on Hindus in 1563 A.D.

He abolished "Jizya" tax on Hindus in 1564 A.D.

Akbar built a new building called the Ibadat Khana (House of Worship) at Fatepur Sikri and invited scholars of different religions to hold discussions.

He was not satisfied with any religion and decided to unite in his own person the authority of ruler and religious head and a proclamation was made accourdingly in 1579 A.D.

He founded a new religion called Din-i-Ilahi in 1582. It reflects the religious tolerance of Akbar.

But he never compelled anyone to embrace his new religion.

Except Raja Birba no Hindu joined in this religion.

Aurangzeb followed Anti-Hindu policy and prohibited Hindu festivals. This resulted many revolts.

He invited scholors of different religions like Hindus, Jains, Parsis, Christians and Muslims for discussions.

Akbar abolished the privileges enjoyed by the ulemas.

Akbar was proclaimed to be the head of state and church in 1579.