Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Mahajanapadas Buddhism Jainism Mauryan Empire Post Mauryan Age-Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Sangam Age Satavahanas Vakatakas Kadambas Badami Chalukyas Rashtrakutas Chola Empire Kalyani Chalukyas Pallava Kingdom Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Bhakti Movement Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Sur Dynasty-Shershah Gajapati Kingdom Eastern Ganga Dynasty Hoysalas Ahom Kingdom Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Maratha Kingdom Sikhs Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Advent of Europeans British Rule Constitutional Developments Education-Press Establishment of British le Governor Generals Moderates Popular Movements 1857 Revolt Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Nationalism Lord Canning


Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism Persian-Greek Invasions Mauryan Empire Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Indian Culture Sangam Age Satavahanas Chola Empire Badami Chalukyas Pallavas Rashtrakutas Kalyani Chalukyas Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Hoysala Kingdom Independent Kingdoms Kakatiyas Kalachuri Kingdom Later Pandyas Marathas Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Sur Dynasty-Shershah Sikhs Advent of Europeans Revolts Governor Generals British Rule Natonal Leaders Popular Movements Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Natonalism Viceroys Education-Press Constitutional Developments --%>


The Rajput age witnessed the growth of architectural and sculptural activity.

Many forts and palaces were built at Gwalior, Kalinjar, Ranthambhor, Chanderi, Chitor and Udaipur.

Most of the Rajputs were the Hindus.

A large number of temples were also built by them. They built temples at Khajuraho, Konark, Puri and Bhuvaneswar. Most of these temples were destroyed by the Muslims.

The teachings of great Hindu religious leader Shankaracharya helped in the spread of Hinduism.

The Puranas became the gospel of religion. The Rajputs worshipped Siva, Vishnu, Aditya and Ganapati.

The Bhakti centered Neo-Hinduism of the period gave a death blow to Buddhism and Jainism.

The Khajuraho group of temples in Bundelkhand is an important specimen of Rajput architecture.

The temples of this period were built in three styles called the Nagara, Dravida and Vasara styles.

The Nagara style represent the North Indian style and Dravida style represent the South Indian style and a combination of these two was the vesara style.

The Puri Jagannatha temple and the Sun Temple at Konark belong to the Nagara style.

Mahakali temple of Gujarat, Ekalinga temple of Udaipur, Jwalamukhi temple of kangra and Somnath temple of Gujarat are some other temples of this age.

The two Jain temples at Mount Abu were built of white marble. All these depict excellent and delicate workmanship.

Marthanda Sun temple is located in Kashmir. It was built by Karkota ruler Lalitaditya Muktapida.

Konark Sun temple was located in Odisha. It was built by Narasimha I (Ganga II).

Modera Sun temple is located in Gujarat.

Arasavalli Sun temple is located in Andhra pradesh.

Ananthavarma Choda built Jagannatha temple at Puri.