Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Mahajanapadas Buddhism Jainism Mauryan Empire Post Mauryan Age-Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Sangam Age Satavahanas Vakatakas Kadambas Badami Chalukyas Rashtrakutas Chola Empire Kalyani Chalukyas Pallava Kingdom Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Bhakti Movement Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Sur Dynasty-Shershah Gajapati Kingdom Eastern Ganga Dynasty Hoysalas Ahom Kingdom Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Maratha Kingdom Sikhs Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Advent of Europeans British Rule Constitutional Developments Education-Press Establishment of British le Governor Generals Moderates Popular Movements 1857 Revolt Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Nationalism Lord Canning


Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism Persian-Greek Invasions Mauryan Empire Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Indian Culture Sangam Age Satavahanas Chola Empire Badami Chalukyas Pallavas Rashtrakutas Kalyani Chalukyas Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Hoysala Kingdom Independent Kingdoms Kakatiyas Kalachuri Kingdom Later Pandyas Marathas Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Sur Dynasty-Shershah Sikhs Advent of Europeans Revolts Governor Generals British Rule Natonal Leaders Popular Movements Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Natonalism Viceroys Education-Press Constitutional Developments --%>


The Chauhans, the most valiant of the Rajput clans, belonged to the Gurjara or Huna sect.

According to Prithviraj Raso and Hmmiramahakavya Chauhans were solar in orign. They centred around lake Sambar or Sakambari.

They rose to importance because of their great wars with the Muslims of Punjab.

Initially Chauhans were the feudatories of Pratiharas. They ruled over the Sapadalaksha country as vassals of the Pratiharas.

According to Harsha stone inscription dated 973 A.D Guvaka I was the first ruler of this line. He was contemporaneous with Nagabhatta II of Pratihara family.

The founder of Chauhans was Vakpatiraja. Capital-Sakambari.

The first independent ruler of the Chauhans dynasty was Simharaja.

The title of Simharaja was Maharajadhiraja.

Ajayaraja of the dynasty founded the city of Ajayameru which later came to be known as Ajmer.

Visaladeva (Vigraharaja IV) was one of the greatest rulers of the chauhan dynasty. He conquered upto Delhi.

Somadeva wrote Harikelinataka and Llitavigraharaja to glorify Vigraharaja.

Prithviraj III was the greatest among Chauhan rulers. He ruled from 1179 to 1192 A.D.

He defeated Paramardi of Chandella family in about 1182 AD and got Mahoba.

His greatest victory was the organization of a confederacy of the Rajput princes against Muhammad of Ghori.

He defeated Muhammad Ghori in the first battle of Tarain in 1191 A.D.

But he was defeated and killed in the second battle of Tarain in 1192 A.D. by Muhammad Ghori and Ajmer was sacked.

After the second battle of Tarain Chauhans continued their rule in Ranthambore.

Ranthambore was captured by the Alla-ud-din Khilji in 1301 A.D.

There was enmity between Prithviraj III and Jayachandra of Kanauj.

Sri Harsha wrote Naishadacharitra.

Chandbardai was the court poet of Prithviraj III.

Prithviraj Raso was written in Hindi.