Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Mahajanapadas Buddhism Jainism Mauryan Empire Post Mauryan Age-Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Sangam Age Satavahanas Vakatakas Kadambas Badami Chalukyas Rashtrakutas Chola Empire Kalyani Chalukyas Pallava Kingdom Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Bhakti Movement Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Sur Dynasty-Shershah Gajapati Kingdom Eastern Ganga Dynasty Hoysalas Ahom Kingdom Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Maratha Kingdom Sikhs Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Advent of Europeans British Rule Constitutional Developments Education-Press Establishment of British le Governor Generals Moderates Popular Movements 1857 Revolt Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Nationalism Lord Canning


Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism Persian-Greek Invasions Mauryan Empire Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Indian Culture Sangam Age Satavahanas Chola Empire Badami Chalukyas Pallavas Rashtrakutas Kalyani Chalukyas Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Hoysala Kingdom Independent Kingdoms Kakatiyas Kalachuri Kingdom Later Pandyas Marathas Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Sur Dynasty-Shershah Sikhs Advent of Europeans Revolts Governor Generals British Rule Natonal Leaders Popular Movements Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Natonalism Viceroys Education-Press Constitutional Developments --%>


Sher Shah was not only a great conquerer but also a great administrator.

Sher Shah established efficient administrative system and looked into smaller details of administration.

He did not followed the advice of Ulemas.

The nature of the administration was not only autocratic but also enlightened.

He introduced a number of reforms during the short period of five years of his reign.

The structure of Government of Shershah was highly centralized.

The king was the head of the government and excercised all powers.

The empire of Sher Shah was divided into Sarkars.

47 Sarkars were existed during the period of Sher Shah.

Sarkars were again divided into Parganas.

Munsif-in-chief and Shiqdar-in-chief were the officers of the Sarkars.

Munsif-in-chief was a civil officer and looked after the judicial and revenue matters of the Sarkars.

Munsif-in-chief maintained the law and order in the Sarkar.

The Parganas were looked after by the four officers. They were Shiqdar, Amin, Chaudari and Patwari.

King was the highest court of justice.

Chief Qazi was the head of the Judicial department.

Severe punishments were imposed for serious offences.

Sher Shah introduced a scientific currency system.

He introduced a new copper coin called "Dam" and silver rupee.

Asharfi was his gold coin. He encouraged trade and commerce and abolished the internal customs.

He improved transport facilities and laid four important road ways i.e. G.T. Karnal Road from Sonargaon(Bengal) to Attack(North West), from Agra to Mandu, from Agra to Jodhpur and from Lahore to Multan.

Sher Shah exercised civil and military powers in the interest of the people.