Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Mahajanapadas Buddhism Jainism Mauryan Empire Post Mauryan Age-Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Sangam Age Satavahanas Vakatakas Kadambas Badami Chalukyas Rashtrakutas Chola Empire Kalyani Chalukyas Pallava Kingdom Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Bhakti Movement Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Sur Dynasty-Shershah Gajapati Kingdom Eastern Ganga Dynasty Hoysalas Ahom Kingdom Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Maratha Kingdom Sikhs Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Advent of Europeans British Rule Constitutional Developments Education-Press Establishment of British le Governor Generals Moderates Popular Movements 1857 Revolt Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Nationalism Lord Canning


Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism Persian-Greek Invasions Mauryan Empire Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Indian Culture Sangam Age Satavahanas Chola Empire Badami Chalukyas Pallavas Rashtrakutas Kalyani Chalukyas Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Hoysala Kingdom Independent Kingdoms Kakatiyas Kalachuri Kingdom Later Pandyas Marathas Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Sur Dynasty-Shershah Sikhs Advent of Europeans Revolts Governor Generals British Rule Natonal Leaders Popular Movements Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Natonalism Viceroys Education-Press Constitutional Developments --%>

Government of India Act 1935

Government of India Act 1935 was based on Simon Commission report, Muddiman Committee Report, deliberations of three Round Table Conferences, Communal Award etc.

This Act was the second milestome in the introduction of responsible government in India.

The Government of India Act 1935 contains 14 parts and 10 Schedules.

The Act abolished dyarchy in provinces and autonomy was given to them.

Dyarcy was introduced at the Centre.

All India Federation with two governments i.e. Union and States. was created.

The Central Legislature consists Rajya Sabha and Federal Assembly.

Governor General was the chief administrator of the Federal Government.

Governor Geneal has the power to appoint or remove the council of ministers, issue of ordinances, summoning, proroguing or dissolving the Federal Assembly.

Native states was given freedom either to join or quit the Federation.

Division of powers, Federal court, written and rigid constitution were the federal features.

59 items included in Central List, 54 items included in State list.

Governor General was authorised to make a law on residuary subjects.

Burma was separated from India.

Administrative subjects of the Union Government is divided into two Lists i.e. Reserved and Transferred.

Reserved List comprised Defence, External affairs, Communal issues, Tribal Welfare etc.

Governor General had the authority over reserved subjects with the help of three British Councillors.

Governor General supervises the matters of the Transferred List.

Federal court was constituted to settle the conflicts between the Union and the Provinces.

The principle of communal electorates extended to Indian Christians, Anglo-Indians, Harijans and Europeans.

New offices like Advocate General, Financial Adviser, Federal Railway Authority etc., were created.

The Indian government Act, 1935 was passed during the period of Lord Wellington.