Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Mahajanapadas Buddhism Jainism Mauryan Empire Post Mauryan Age-Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Sangam Age Satavahanas Vakatakas Kadambas Badami Chalukyas Rashtrakutas Chola Empire Kalyani Chalukyas Pallava Kingdom Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Bhakti Movement Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Sur Dynasty-Shershah Gajapati Kingdom Eastern Ganga Dynasty Hoysalas Ahom Kingdom Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Maratha Kingdom Sikhs Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Advent of Europeans British Rule Constitutional Developments Education-Press Establishment of British le Governor Generals Moderates Popular Movements 1857 Revolt Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Nationalism Lord Canning


Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism Persian-Greek Invasions Mauryan Empire Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Indian Culture Sangam Age Satavahanas Chola Empire Badami Chalukyas Pallavas Rashtrakutas Kalyani Chalukyas Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Hoysala Kingdom Independent Kingdoms Kakatiyas Kalachuri Kingdom Later Pandyas Marathas Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Sur Dynasty-Shershah Sikhs Advent of Europeans Revolts Governor Generals British Rule Natonal Leaders Popular Movements Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Natonalism Viceroys Education-Press Constitutional Developments --%>

Treaty of Allahabad

After the Battle of Buxar, the treaty of Allahabad was concluded on 16th August 1765.

Robert Clive was appointed as Governor of Bengal for the second time in 1765.

He concluded Allahabad treaty with Mughal Emperor and Nawab of Oudh.

As per the treaty of Allahabad the administration of Bengal was divided in to Diwani and Nizamath.

Diwani was the right of collecting land revenue in Bengal. It was taken over by the British.

Nizamath was the responsibility of administration. It was entrusted to the Nawab of Bengal.

East India company agreed to pay 26 lakhs rupees p.a. to the Mughal Emperor.

English got Northern circars in the third Carnatic War.

Mughal emperor agreed to recognize the authority of English on them.

The districts of Allahabad and Kara were separated from Oudha and were given to Mughal emperor.

The Nawab of Carnatic was recognized as an Independent ruler.

The Deccan Subedar at Hyderabad should not have any control over Carnatic Nawab.

Thus, English became the real rulers of Bengal, Bihar, and Orissa by the year 1765.