Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Mahajanapadas Buddhism Jainism Mauryan Empire Post Mauryan Age-Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Sangam Age Satavahanas Vakatakas Kadambas Badami Chalukyas Rashtrakutas Chola Empire Kalyani Chalukyas Pallava Kingdom Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Bhakti Movement Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Sur Dynasty-Shershah Gajapati Kingdom Eastern Ganga Dynasty Hoysalas Ahom Kingdom Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Maratha Kingdom Sikhs Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Advent of Europeans British Rule Constitutional Developments Education-Press Establishment of British le Governor Generals Moderates Popular Movements 1857 Revolt Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Nationalism Lord Canning


Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism Persian-Greek Invasions Mauryan Empire Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Indian Culture Sangam Age Satavahanas Chola Empire Badami Chalukyas Pallavas Rashtrakutas Kalyani Chalukyas Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Hoysala Kingdom Independent Kingdoms Kakatiyas Kalachuri Kingdom Later Pandyas Marathas Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Sur Dynasty-Shershah Sikhs Advent of Europeans Revolts Governor Generals British Rule Natonal Leaders Popular Movements Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Natonalism Viceroys Education-Press Constitutional Developments --%>

Second Anglo Maratha War

Second Anglo-Maratha War 1803-05:

Wellesley`s desire to impose subsidiary Alliance on Marthas and his aggressive policy of interfering into the internal affairs of the Marathas was the main cause for the war.

The Maratha leaders, Mahadaji Sindhia and Nanafadnavis, who played prominent role in the first Anglo-Maratha war died in 1793 and 1800 respectively.

There was a struggle in the Maratha polities between Daulat Rao Sindia, successor of Mahadaji Sindia and Yashwant Rao Holker for power.

Holkar reached near the sight of Poona. Then Baji Rao II fled to Bassein and concluded subsidiary alliance with the British on Dec.31, 1802.

This was not acceptable to other Maratha leaders. So, they wanted to fight with the British.

Consequently second Anglo-Maratha war was broke out in 1803.

Sindia, Holkar and Bhonsle fought in the second Anglo-Maratha war.

Wellesle defeated the armies of Sindia and Bhonsle at Assaye in september 1803 and at Argaon in November, 1803.

The treaty of Deogaon was concluded on December 17, 1803 between Raghuji Bhonsle and the company.

As per this treaty Bhonsle agreed to cede the english the province of cuttack, Balasore and territory west of the river Warda and accepted the subsidiary alliance with British.

Later Sindia army was defeated at Aligarh and finally at the British.

Sindia concluded the treaty of Surji Arjunagaon with British on December 30, 1803.

As per this treaty Sindia agreed to cede the territory between the Ganga and yamuna, Anmadnagar, Broach and parts of Bundelkhand.

As per the treaty of Burhanpur (Feb.27, 1804), Sindia agreed to enter into subsidiary alliance with British.

Holkar continued the war with British.

The East India Company realised that the policy of expansion through war was costly and reduced profits.

The company's debt was increased. Therefore wellesely was recalled from India.

The company entered into peace treaty with Holkar on 24 december, 1805. This treaty is called Rajpurghat Treaty.

As per this treaty Yashvanth Rao Holkar agreed to renounce all claims to the area north of the Bundi hill.

British also promised not to disturb Holkar's possessions in Mewar and Malwa.

The treaty of Rajpurghat marked the end of the second Anglo-Maratha.