Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Mahajanapadas Buddhism Jainism Mauryan Empire Post Mauryan Age-Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Sangam Age Satavahanas Vakatakas Kadambas Badami Chalukyas Rashtrakutas Chola Empire Kalyani Chalukyas Pallava Kingdom Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Bhakti Movement Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Sur Dynasty-Shershah Gajapati Kingdom Eastern Ganga Dynasty Hoysalas Ahom Kingdom Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Maratha Kingdom Sikhs Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Advent of Europeans British Rule Constitutional Developments Education-Press Establishment of British le Governor Generals Moderates Popular Movements 1857 Revolt Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Nationalism Lord Canning


Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism Persian-Greek Invasions Mauryan Empire Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Indian Culture Sangam Age Satavahanas Chola Empire Badami Chalukyas Pallavas Rashtrakutas Kalyani Chalukyas Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Hoysala Kingdom Independent Kingdoms Kakatiyas Kalachuri Kingdom Later Pandyas Marathas Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Sur Dynasty-Shershah Sikhs Advent of Europeans Revolts Governor Generals British Rule Natonal Leaders Popular Movements Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Natonalism Viceroys Education-Press Constitutional Developments --%>

Third Anglo Mysore War

The Third Anglo-Mysore war took place between 1790-92.

The main causes for this war are:

Intention of British to revive their pride by defeating Tippu Sultan;

Strengthening the position of Tippu Sultan by internal reforms;

Attempts of Tippu Sultan for the help of France and Turkey;

Triple Alliance by the British with Nizam and Marathas against Tippu in 1790;

Attacking Tippu Sultan against Travancore in April 1790.

These causes made the Third Anglo - Mysore War inevitable.

With large Army Cornwallis himself marched towards srirangapatnam.

Tippu also offered stiff resistance the war was ended with the treaty of Srirangapatnam in March 1792.

As per this treaty Tippu Sultan ceded half of his territories which were to be distributed among the company, Maratha and Nizam.

Earlior treaties between the english and Mysore confirmed. Tippu Sultan had to pay war indemnity