Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Mahajanapadas Buddhism Jainism Mauryan Empire Post Mauryan Age-Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Sangam Age Satavahanas Vakatakas Kadambas Badami Chalukyas Rashtrakutas Chola Empire Kalyani Chalukyas Pallava Kingdom Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Bhakti Movement Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Sur Dynasty-Shershah Gajapati Kingdom Eastern Ganga Dynasty Hoysalas Ahom Kingdom Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Maratha Kingdom Sikhs Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Advent of Europeans British Rule Constitutional Developments Education-Press Establishment of British le Governor Generals Moderates Popular Movements 1857 Revolt Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Nationalism Lord Canning


Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism Persian-Greek Invasions Mauryan Empire Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Indian Culture Sangam Age Satavahanas Chola Empire Badami Chalukyas Pallavas Rashtrakutas Kalyani Chalukyas Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Hoysala Kingdom Independent Kingdoms Kakatiyas Kalachuri Kingdom Later Pandyas Marathas Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Sur Dynasty-Shershah Sikhs Advent of Europeans Revolts Governor Generals British Rule Natonal Leaders Popular Movements Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Natonalism Viceroys Education-Press Constitutional Developments --%>

Lord Cornwallis-Judicial Reforms

Lord Corwallis-Judicial Reforms

Cornwallis reduced the number of districts from 36 to 23 and appointed an Englishman as collector for each district.

The duties of collector were collecting revenue, act as magistrate and Judge. Many powers were concentrated in the hands of collector.

He divided the three provinces of Bengal, Bihar and Orissa into four divisions and established a circuit court in each of the division.

Each circuit court was presided over by two covenated servants of the Company.

Magistrate executes the decisions of Circuit Courts.

In case of death sentence the decision had to be confirmed by the Sadar Nizamat Adalat.

Revenue Courts or Maal Adalats were abolished.

A court of Diwani Adalat was established in each district of the three provinces.

Diwani Adalats had the jurisdiction to try civil and revenue cases but not criminal cases.

Four provincial courts were established at Calcutta, Murshidabad, Dacca and Patna.

The decision of provincial courts was final in cases involving Rs.1000 or less.

Munsiffs were appointed to try petty cases involving not more than Rs.50.