Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Mahajanapadas Buddhism Jainism Mauryan Empire Post Mauryan Age-Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Sangam Age Satavahanas Vakatakas Kadambas Badami Chalukyas Rashtrakutas Chola Empire Kalyani Chalukyas Pallava Kingdom Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Bhakti Movement Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Sur Dynasty-Shershah Gajapati Kingdom Eastern Ganga Dynasty Hoysalas Ahom Kingdom Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Maratha Kingdom Sikhs Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Advent of Europeans British Rule Constitutional Developments Education-Press Establishment of British le Governor Generals Moderates Popular Movements 1857 Revolt Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Nationalism Lord Canning


Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism Persian-Greek Invasions Mauryan Empire Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Indian Culture Sangam Age Satavahanas Chola Empire Badami Chalukyas Pallavas Rashtrakutas Kalyani Chalukyas Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Hoysala Kingdom Independent Kingdoms Kakatiyas Kalachuri Kingdom Later Pandyas Marathas Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Sur Dynasty-Shershah Sikhs Advent of Europeans Revolts Governor Generals British Rule Natonal Leaders Popular Movements Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Natonalism Viceroys Education-Press Constitutional Developments --%>

Swaraj Party

After the withdrawal of Non Cooperation Movement there was difference of opinion among the Congress leaders.

Some of them argued that the Non-Cooperation should be continued. They are called No-changers. They include Rajendra Prasad, Rajagopalachari, Vallabhai Patel etc.

Some of the other leaders argued that they should end boycott of legislatures and contest in elections. They are called pro-changers. They include C.R.Das, Motilal Nehru, Srinivas Iyyengar etc.

In the Gaya Congress Session in 1922 C.R. Das who presided it, proposed the programme of entering into legislatures but it was defeated.

On January 1, 1923 C.R.Das founded Swaraj Party. C.R Das was its president and Motilal Nehru was its secretary.

Swaraj Party contested in elections to the central legislature in November 1923 and won 42 seats out of 104. It passed a resolution on 18th February 1924 requesting the Government to establish fully responsible Government in India.

Muddiman Committee was appointed as a result of the resolution passed by the Swaraj Party.

Motilal Nehru refused to become a member of Muddiman Committee.

The aim of the Swaraj Party was to wreck the Government of India Act 1919.

Swaraj Party held its first conference at the residence of Motilal Nehru in Allahabad to decide future programme.

The programme of Swaraj Party was obstructionism.

Swaraj Party declared that they would cooperate the constructive programme of the Congress under the leadership of Mahatma Gandhi.

As a result of the efforts of the Swaraj Party some of the demands were rejected by the Central Assembly in the budget of 1924-25.

The introduced by the V.J.Patel in February 1925 was passed.

The Swarajists boycotted all receptions, functions or parties organised by the Government.

As a result of the efforts of the Swarajists National aims and aspirations were expressed and National grievances were fully voiced in Legislative Assembly. Legislative Assembly was appeared as a truly National Assembly for the first time Swaraj Party gradually disappears after the death of C.R.Das