Indian History

Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Mahajanapadas Buddhism Jainism Mauryan Empire Post Mauryan Age-Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Sangam Age Satavahanas Vakatakas Kadambas Badami Chalukyas Rashtrakutas Chola Empire Kalyani Chalukyas Pallava Kingdom Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Bhakti Movement Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Sur Dynasty-Shershah Gajapati Kingdom Eastern Ganga Dynasty Hoysalas Ahom Kingdom Kakatiyas Kalachuris Later Pandyas Maratha Kingdom Sikhs Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Advent of Europeans British Rule Constitutional Developments Education-Press Establishment of British le Governor Generals Moderates Popular Movements 1857 Revolt Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Nationalism Lord Canning


Indus Valley Civilization Early Vedic Civilization Later Vedic Civilization Buddhism Jainism Persian-Greek Invasions Mauryan Empire Kushans Gupta Empire Harshavardhana Indian Culture Sangam Age Satavahanas Chola Empire Badami Chalukyas Pallavas Rashtrakutas Kalyani Chalukyas Rajputs Muslim Invasions Bahmani Empire Delhi Sultans Mughal Empire Hoysala Kingdom Independent Kingdoms Kakatiyas Kalachuri Kingdom Later Pandyas Marathas Vijayanagara Empire Yadavas Sur Dynasty-Shershah Sikhs Advent of Europeans Revolts Governor Generals British Rule Natonal Leaders Popular Movements Revolutionary Terrorism Rise of Natonalism Viceroys Education-Press Constitutional Developments --%>

Lord Lytton

Lord Lytton (1876-80):

The Viceroy Lord Lytton held the imperial Durbar at Delhi in 1877.

During the viceroyality of Lord Lytton Queen Victoria was crowned as 'kaiser-i-Hind'.

The Vernacular Press Act was passed during the period of Lord Lytton.

He participated in the Second Afghan War and was responsible for the disaster caused by war.

He suggested to form Indian Privy Council of ruling chiefs. It was not accepted but later in 1919 Narendra Mandal or Chamber of Princes was formed.

He opposed lenient punishments in cases in which Europeans involved.

British Parliament passed royal titles Act. It conferred upon the sovereign of England the title of Kaisar-i-Hind.

Lytton held magnificent Durbar at Delhi and Queen Victoria was proclaimed as the empress of India.

In 1876-78 a severe famine took place in Bombay, Madras, Mysore, Hyderabad and some other parts. A famine commission was appointed. As per the commission report a famine fund was set up in every province and every province was to contribute the fund every year. Canals were to be dug to meet the dangers of famine.

Beforee lytton salt tax was levied at different rates in different provinces. Lytton equalised salt duties in all the parts of India.

He abolished the custom lines or hedges which were created to prevent the untaxed salt from native states to British India.

he followed a policy of free trade.

He took a second step towards financial decentralisation. First step was taken by Mayo.

Lytton opened the Mohammadan Anglo-oriental college at Aligarh. Later it became Aligarh University.

In 1833 it was declared that no native of India was to be debarred from holding any office but nothing was done to redeem this promise. He founded the statutory civil service.